Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony
Google GmailBlogger PostTwitterFacebookShare

Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony

Presented by: Singapore Symphony Orchestra

Date: 27 Sep 2012, Thu

Time: 7:30pm

Duration: 2 hrs

Venue: Concert Hall, Esplanade

Ticket Prices: $72, $58, $42, $32, $22, $15

Tickets available from: SISTIC


Andreas Delfs – conductor
Frank Braley – piano

J. C. BACH Symphony in B flat major, Op. 18, No. 2 ‘Overture to Lucio Silla’ (11′)
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat major, K.271 ‘Jeunehomme’ (32’)
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60 (34’)

The Piano Concerto No. 9 – composed when Mozart was 21 – owes its nickname to a young French pianist by the name of Jeunehomme, for whom it was written and of whom little is known today, beyond the fact that he (or she) must certainly have possessed considerable pianistic skill. Following the storm and stress of the Eroica, Beethoven’s Fourth finds the composer in high spirits, and features an energetic finale with charming contrasted themes.

Pre-Concert Talk: 6.30pm, Library@Esplanade

browse events by